ads-leaderboard-banner-728
vegan-pledge-by-vegan-society
Don't miss

Is Parmesan Cheese Vegetarian ?

By on May 17, 2012

Parmesan and other non-vegetarian cheese!!

There are some cheeses which are always made using animal rennet, for example, Parmesan (Parmigiano Reggiano). In order to be called ‘Parmesan’ this has to be produced according to traditional methods which use calf rennet. The regulations for its production state the following ingredients; cows milk, salt and calf rennet. The milk comes from cows reared in the defined geographical area and the use of the term parmesan as a product description is limited by European Union labelling law to being region specific. Other cheeses which are always made using animal rennet include Grana Padano and Gorgonzola. You can get ‘parmesan style hard cheese’, and variations of others which are suitable for vegetarians. Read More…

If you are a strict vegetarian, you may not be able to eat store-bought pizza anymore. The next time you are in doubt, just read the labels for ingredients or ask !

About BinaAZ.com (Veg Life Style)